User Profiles


User Profiles in Clearlogin have a few purposes.  First and foremost, they are there to establish administrators within Clearlogin.

Secondly, they can be used to track licenses/seats being used within Clearlogin.  For example, every time a new user logs into Clearlogin, a User Profile is created for them within Clearlogin, regardless of the Identity Source used for authentication.  When a new User Profile is created, the Seats Total increases, and the Seats Remaining decrease.  These counts are at the top of the User Profiles page:

It's extremely important to note that User Profiles should not be confused with Clearlogin Directory profiles/accounts, and that they are two separate things.  Clearlogin Directory should be treated the same as a non-Clearlogin provided Identity Source such as Active Directory and Google Apps Directory from an infrastructural viewpoint.

You can access the User Profiles page by doing the following:

  1. Navigate and log into the Administrator dashboard (

  2. Once you have logged in select "User Profiles" from the left-hand navigation bar.

  3. Once you are on the User Profiles page, you will have a plethora of options, including the ability to add a new user profile (this is typically something that you would only do if an administrator does not authenticate via an Identity Source), download a CSV of all users that match the currently being used filter, delete a batch of users based on the currently being used filter, and configure individual users' profiles.

    The  button next to a user's profile will reset their current session, requiring them to log back in.

    The  button next to a user's profile will deny that user access to Clearlogin, regardless of their status within the Identity Provider that they are in and your Access Rules.

    The  button next to a user's profile will take you to a page to edit their profile which is explained in this article.

    The  button next to a user's profile will delete their profile.  Please note that if the user logs back into Clearlogin, then their profile will be recreated upon login.

    The  button near the top of the page will take you to the Basic Settings page which will allow you to toggle the Auto Create User Profiles setting near the bottom of the page.

    You would only want to disable this if you want to stop new users from accessing Clearlogin so as not to go over your seat count.

    Please note that it is Clearlogin's policy to allow it's customers to bypass their seat count limit in order to make sure that new users do not have to wait for a sale to take place in order to gain access to Clearlogin.  Occasional audits are performed on each customer's account and customers will be billed for any overages at a prorated rate.
Have more questions? Submit a request


Powered by Zendesk