Syncing Google Apps Passwords

Follow

One of the most popular app suites is Google Apps, even for organizations that are not using Google as an Identity Provider.  This leads us to one of Clearlogin's most used features: native support for syncing Google Apps passwords via a Google admin account.

When you sync your Google Apps domain to your Clearlogin domain, password changes to Google Apps accounts will not need to also be changed within Clearlogin, since they are re-synchronized every time a user logs in to Google Apps.

To get started with syncing your Google Apps domain to your Clearlogin domain, make sure that you have a Google Apps administrator account ready to be used for this purpose, and then do the following:

Engineer's Note:  It is not necessary to enable this feature if you are using Google as an Identity Provider, since you will already have the features that the following procedure will add for you.

  1. Navigate to your Clearlogin admin dashboard and select Apps from the navigation bar.

    Displaying navmenu.png

    On the Manage App Connections page, click on the Google App Settings Button

    Displaying gapps.png


  2. You will be brought to the Google Apps Settings page.



    As you can see, Always Sync Password With Google Apps is already checked by default.  Leave this box checked in order to have your passwords re-sync'd upon every successful login.  This will stop users from being unable to access Google Apps after changing their Google Apps password.

    Another important checkbox is Sync Password Changes With Google Apps, which re-syncs passwords after every Clearlogin Change Password attempt.  You should use this if you choose to not use the Always Sync Password With Google Apps option.  It's however preferable that you leave both Always Sync Password With Google Apps and Sync Password Changes With Google Apps simultaneously checked.

    Circled above you will see that you need to sync a Google Apps admin account.  This is how Clearlogin pulls credentials from Google.  To get started, click on the red button that says Sync with Google.

  3. You will be asked to log into Google.  

    You may either choose an already configured account or add a brand new one, depending on which account you have designated to sync passwords with.



    Once you have logged into Google, you should see the following screen:



    Click on your account name to continue.

  4. Afterwards you will be brought back to the Google Apps Settings page.  Where the red button that said Sync with Google should now have been changed to a blue button that says Desync with Google, indicating that you have successfully synchronized your passwords!



    If your screen does not look like the above, then please make sure that you are using an admin account that has been designated privileges to administrate users' passwords and try again.
Have more questions? Submit a request

Comments

Powered by Zendesk